Weekend Coffee Share

Cutting Back

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I cut back. You raise a “Yeah, right” eyebrow.

“No,” laugh, “I’m on my third cup, already!”

I would tell you that I have cut back on trying. I think I try too hard. It’s a cycle: Something doesn’t workout and I keep trying to make it work. I get frustrated and depressed, and then I fantasize about moving to someplace where nobody knows me.

Dramatic. Yes. I annoy myself sometimes, so let me explain.

I cut back on blogging. Yes, I love it. I only blog once a week as it is. I realized I couldn’t be a daily blogger or a structured blogger. It’s not me.

I used to go link up to every meet and greet. I have stopped. I think meet and greets are wonderful; they are a great way to connect with the blogging community. However, I need to take a step back and focus on writing.

This summer I decided to change a few things. I want to do things that make sense for me and my family. It’s easy to get caught up in a carousel of routine and not recognize the routine morphed into habitual mania.

I stopped caring about if people like me or not. People do what they want and say what they want. Maybe I should take a cue from them…to a degree. I am done obsessing over what I should have said, or done. I doubt others do the same.

I don’t want to be an ameba, or think (or not think) like an ameba. I have to do what’s right for my kids and me. Keeping up with the activity schedule is crazy. I really don’t care what the “in crowd” is doing. I need to think about how my kids are reacting to all of the schlepping.

You are looking at me like I slipped something special in my coffee, or maybe it’s a look a relief on your face? Whatever. I really don’t care. Go talk about me at pick up! Did I really just say that out loud?

Here’s the thing: I do have something to say. Blogging is my therapy. If I make my WordPress world stressful and crazy, what is the point?

There is more. Sorry to dump so much on you. I think that when people see my blog’s name, Fabulous Fit Mamas, they expect a blog that will tell them how to live a healthy life and have a lot of fitness tips.

(We collapse into uncontrollable laughter.)

OK! Enough! My goal for my blog is to look at what Fabulous and Fit really means: being comfortable, being challenged, and being fabulous on your terms.

That’s why I cut back. I’m on my terms. It feels quiet. Quietly, Fabulous. Let’s have another cup of coffee. Tell me, how are you cutting back?

Thank you Diana from Part-Time Monster! Weekend Coffee Share is so therapeutic!

 

2 thoughts on “Cutting Back

  1. Seems like a good idea. When it got too stressful to write posts and trying to keep up,I cut back too. Blogging should be stress free…and just like in real life…just do you! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

