Blog · UnSimply She · Weekend Coffee Share

Drafting 2017

Drafting 2017

I have three drafts for 2017. I am experiencing writer’s block. Here are three different interpretations for 2017. Hopefully, I will  soon clear my mind and complete a cohesive, blog post. Enjoy!

  1. 2017 is off to a chaotic start. Sitting in front of my coveted keyboard is a cherished time, but unfortunately the luxury of blogging is a scarce commodity these days. Where have I been? On an island. Trapped on a delayed flight. Experienced life on a campsite. Not a twenty minutes of sleep..all night. I experienced a lock down. I taught yoga.

I can’t seem to find my voice in 2017. I am waiting to breathe. I am waiting for still.

img_5585
Camping Sunrise

 

Searching 2017

I hate taking a break from my blog.

Yes, It’s healthy to recharge. Go on vacation. Take a break from the grind, etc. Starting 2017 with a clear mind and tanned body was my goal. Things started out wonderfully. Vacation was the recharge I needed: no schlepping kids, no 5:00 am wake up, quality family time. Yes, palm trees and tequila were sprinkled into the sweet mix too. It’s easy for me to feel gratitude when I start the day with a run on the beach. It’s easy for me to feel rejuvenated with a green smoothie a day and eight hours of sleep. The only thing that took a hit was my diabetes. No, I was not making unhealthy choices and lying on the beach all day. I was proud of my choices. Spartan is six months away. Even in paradise, I heard Aroo whispering to me in the sea breeze. I charged on the sand. I did my burppess. I even

img_5332
A Morning Run Route

found monkey bars. Maybe it was the tequila talking? I digress.

Any change in routine makes my sugar go crazy. I have no idea why.

Coffee, Bulldozers, 2017

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I am taking a break. Most of the word is raring to go, pumped up with New Year’s resolutions and motivated to make 2017 the best year they can. Not me. I am starting 2017 on break. I will be away from my blog for over a week.   I will miss our coffee dates, but I know you will be busy.

I am not a fan of resolutions. I am a work in progress. I am constantly evolving. I am an introvert at heart. Lately, I find myself retreating back into my thoughts. That can be a positive or negative. One thing I accept is I am not everyone’s cup of tea. There is something about me that I feel people do not like. I am too much or too little of something. At my age I know I should not care. I agree. I do think it is important to realize things about us. I feel sorry for those who walk around oblivious to everything, even themselves. They just bulldoze through life.

I have no plans on becoming a bulldozer. However, I will stop feeling guilty or paranoid that I did not do or say the right thing. This may not be very nice, but I plan to be comfortable with admitting that “It’s OK that you don’t like me. I don’t like you either”, and that’s that. No guilt.

In 2017 I will continue to indulge in my guilty pleasures: wine, coffee, The Real Housewives of Whereever, chick lit, and being OK with me. Being OK with me should not be a guilty pleasure. But, guilty pleasures make me happy. I should make me happy.

“So, do you want cream or sugar in your coffee?”

“Oh, you are giving up sugar, coffee, carbs, wine, in 2017?”

fullsizerender
A Perfect Cup of Coffee

“Not me. Good luck, though.”

“Oh! I knew you were joking!”

“Forget coffee! Let’s bust out the champagne?”

No Guilt. No Judgment. Be you. Be OK. Be you in 2017.

 

Cheers to our 2017 drafts!

IMG_5146.jpg
Love in 2017

 

 

4 thoughts on “Drafting 2017

Leave a Reply

