Weekend Coffee Share

Just Shut up.

Once again I am rushing to our coffee date. I feel like my life is so compartmentalized in a very unorganized way! I have five minutes for this, 30 seconds for that, and absolutely no time for that whatsoever. Today, I am fighting the proverbial clock. I am shutting it down and stopping time to chat with you.

Speaking of shutting down. I am going to shut up. Stop laughing. Shut up! Seriously, I am going to shut up.

I am really tired of talking. I am guilty of talking for the sake of talking. You agree with me. You tell me that between kids, work, and social situations that you feel like you are just talking just to talk. Sometimes when you talk you feel like you are pulling at strings.

I understand.

I am guilty of this.

I am guilty of chaining myself to a communication device. I am guilty of texting out of anxiety. I am guilty of making nervous conversation. I am tired of chasing the rat race of contrived thoughts that come out of my mouth.

After we vent and take a deep breath, we have an idea: A silent vacation, right here, right now.

We decide to leave our overstuffed baggage behind and go on a quiet, impromptu girls trip: A half hour coffee chat(or nonchat) is as exotic as it gets these days. We will take it.

We sit for a few minutes, savoring our coffee, enjoying not talking, while communicating everything. I ask you, “Do want a refill?” We exchange a knowing, silent, “Yes.”

Then we sit without another word. We no longer hear the threatening tick of the proverbial clock. We are in Paradise.

Thank you Diana from Part-Time Monster Blog. #WeekendCoffee#Share

 

12 thoughts on “Just Shut up.

  1. LOL – I’ve been known to be guilty of nervous chatter myself as well

    I also feel much the same way when it comes to the “clock”. I feel like I’m always running late for stuff.

    Wishing you a wonderful new week

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I too, feel as if there is never enough time in the day. But luckily, my world is relatively quiet, which I love – I’m about as introverted as it gets. 🙂 Chatter would drive me out of my mind. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sometimes, when my daughter and the boys are gone for the weekend, I go days without saying a single word. I live alone. I can easily go from Thursday to Tuesday without one word. I used to talk to my cat but there is no more cat.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There will be a time when I have more periods of silence. I understand. I used to have cats too. I would talk to them all the time. I would enjoy talking to them more than most people I had to deal with.

      Like

Leave a Reply

