Weekend Coffee Share

Core and Coffee

Let’s enjoy a cup of coffee before the school traffic clogs our streets, our lives are stuck in the grind of making lunches, and repeating a grade through the tears and trials of our children’s’ homework sagas. It sounds miserable, right? Well, not really. I have not seen you all summer. I have not seen many friends. It’s OK. We get lost in the Facebook feeds of family vacations and sparkling summer moments.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you this summer was interesting. This summer was about some serious midsection repair. After my mud run (you saw the pictures on my Instagram) I learned that my core was split, which is why I was having knee pain and other physical struggles. As a trainer and a wannabe athlete (I see myself as a skinny girl picked last in gym class) this is a journey of humility and education. Humility and education are one in the same. I can’t learn without humility. Does that make sense?

You are looking at me like I am crazy. I’m used to it. I took an unstable step back to relearn how to do exercises properly, before I get back to the intensity I like. However, things happen for a reason. I have taken up yoga and I love it. Yoga is no joke. I am not good at it. I don’t care. It’s amazing where we end up sometimes.

My children are the core of my universe. This summer they thrived and that made me so happy! Their happiness shocked me and brought on some ugly-cry-mama-tears.

I spent a lot of time at home this summer: The core of our family. I reorganized. I redecorated. I feel a sense of control and joy when I look at the organization. I feel centered. Stop smirking. This is my truth. Yes, I went to Michael’s and bought matching baskets. I am proud of it!

Core exercises and the core mindfullness are about repairing from the inside, stabilizing, strengthening. I plan to carry this feeling through the dreary days of winter. I plan too. That surely does not mean I will! I do have my moments. My two-year-old is very trying. I am often exhausted and snappy. Do not misunderstand me. I am the same hot mess who hugged you a great summer before we scampered off to our separate, summer worlds.

So tell me. What was the core of your summer?

This post is linked up to Part-Time Monster.

 

8 thoughts on “Core and Coffee

  1. Love it! We are also looking toward school and all that comes with it…the good (seeing friends!) and the bad (ughh…homework struggles!). As for the core of the summer, I would have to say, it was one of the worst and best. After a death in the family early on, we really tried to come together and enjoy the summer peace. The second half of the summer was great, and I think the rough start helped us appreciate the good times even better. 🙂 Here’s to a great fall, and here’s hoping 2nd grade homework is tear free.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. My goodness I feel like we are life twins right now!

    My chest has tightened several time thinking about the homework sagas. I created a command center a few days ago and I’m still trying to figure out a schedule, different from last years, in hopes of creating change for this school year.

    I’ve been trying to get back into my yoga routine for about a month now…unsuccessfully at it stands right now. I will keep trying, I’m so disappointed in myself because I had made strides in executing a lot of the poses. As you said yoga is no joke! LOL

    My 6 year old is trying. I wrote a post about her last week. She and I are working through our “differences”. Hahahaha!

    I really enjoyed having coffee with you! Thanks for the post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I enjoyed having coffee with you as well. We are on the same page. All we can do is try. It’s nice to know that I am not alone! As for yoga, enjoy it. It’s a process. It’s one of the few things I am patient with. Kid’s homework… Not so much. If every mother wrote a page for a universal mom book, can you imagine the connections, lessons, justifications for everyone? I am so glad we connected. I will check out your story soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

