Stream of Consciousness Saturday

Book=Overbooked, Booking 6/14

img_3371

This post is part of the SoCS

Here are the rules:
1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.
2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.
3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.
4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours. Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.
5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.
6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!
7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.
8. Have fun!

Friday Night Prompt: Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “book.” Use any meaning of the word as your theme, or simply mention the word “book” in your post. Enjoy!

Book=Overbooking, Booked 

Book is overbooked. Everyone is overbooked. Everything is overkill. You know what? I’m over it.  I have a raw feeling in my gut tonight. You know that feeling in your stomach after you cry for a while? Yes, that’s what I did tonight. I cried for a while.  More of a suppressed cry. I guess the tears are lurking in my gut. Tonight was my big girl’s dress rehearsal for her dance recital. We are all overbooked and overextended. So, arriving tonight is a big production for all of us because nothing is simple in the overbooking business. For two minutes tonight (length of a dance) we all realized how silly we are.

A brave young lady performed a solo dance. However, she was not on stage alone. She had to be assisted by a teacher because she can not walk, or move without assistance.  I sat in my chair watching this young lady and I felt the tears burning.  They were not tears of pity. They are the kind of tears that a parent sheds that you can’t explain but every parent gets.

I looked at my daughter and her friends, standing and watching. I felt “stupid”. All of the overbooking and running that we do.  Things that I get frustrated with are so ridiculous, and at the same time I should rejoice that these are the  frustrations I have. My emotions have booked to my gut. I can’t shake how I feel. I  am so lucky.  I am sure that the young lady’s parents are beaming with pride. Their child gave us a gift tonight.  We all stopped booking in the swirl of nonsense and enjoyed her beautiful dance.

Their child danced. My child danced.  It does not matter how.  Our children do in their own way. It may not be the way we dream or hope, but our children do.

I want to escape from my world for a while and the only way to do that is with a book. I treasure a juicy story.  The heroine’s story is always so much sexier than mine. But my story is mine and I want to sink my teeth into my story, not a book. A book is break.  I need to stop overbooking or my story will be too thin and rigid to tell.

 

 

17 thoughts on “Book=Overbooked, Booking 6/14

  1. I’m so thankful to read this and can totally related to being over-booked, especially when I remember the years my kids were still kids, and I was building my career and trying to get them to excel within societal norms. This part really called my name: “Their child danced. My child danced. It does not matter how. Our children do in their own way. It may not be the way we dream or hope, but our children do.” Both my outside the box kids have mental/emotional issues. But when I read this, I realize how much I have to be thankful for. We all dance in our own ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I share your frustration and Pride. I am a mother. My daughter does ballet and Tap. She is four years old and recently had her 2nd recital for Ballet and Tap in May 2015. I’m always in a trance when I watch my girl dance. Last year I was comparing her too everyone else but this year -all I did was zone in and focus on my Bee and the pride and tears just over whelmed me. It was like I was high on Pride. Now I know why they say it is a sin. ha ha. Great read. A lot of emotion packed into this piece x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful post. 🙂
    I’m still one of those daughters who dances in her own way, but reading this does make me feel grateful for and appreciative of the things in blessed with. Your stream of consciousness writing has so much clarity! I just ramble on from one thing to smoother thing in a horribly random fashion. Guess I have a lot to learn. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much! Keep dancing. The beauty of stream of consciousness is random. Everyone’s random is different. My week is so crazy that my next SoCS will be the voice of a raving lunatic! Thank you for visiting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

