Weekend Coffee Share

Coffee Talk

It’s a dreary day here. I really don’t care because I am inside my cozy, coffee nook. I love rainy days. I don’t feel the pressure of going to the park, with the baby, diaper bag, stroller, big girl, joining in on a Supermom play date. I’m all for popping in a DVD and chilling. Also, coffee always tastes better on a dreary, rainy day.

If we were having coffee I would tell you that the A to Z Challenge simultaneously ended with my personal Culinary Desert Journey. About ten years ago I converted to Judaism. My story behind that is for an entirely different coffee chat. However, after ten years of celebrating Passover, I embarking on the journey of making the holiday my own through my passion of healthy cooking.

IMG_3312After our second cup of coffee, I would sheepishly admit that started a Passover cookbook. Each recipe tells a story and culinary goal for the following year. Who new coconut flour was so symbolic? My focus is to create healthy  recipes that satisfy my family. My husband “complained” that he enjoyed the grain-free meals! I hope my daughters will look to this book for guidance. It’s nothing fancy. I took one of the big girl’s old composition books and started copying down and literally cutting and pasting recipes. Am I looking to publish it one day? No. I love the idea of a family holiday cookbook. Everything in one place. Every dish made with love, for my loves. Yes, the caffeine is really getting to me now!

My culinary desert journey has me leaning towards adding a food portion to my blog. I am not sure when I will act on it, but I am thinking about adding recipes to my blog. No my caffeine chattiness is on over load!

Here is my pancake recipe:

Ingredients:

3 cups almond meal

1/4 cup coconut flour

3 Stevia packets

Sprinkling of cinnamon

1/2 cup full fat Greek Yogurt

1/2 cup nonfat Greek Yogurt

4 eggs

1/2 cup of almond milk

coconut oil for frying

Directions:

  1. Beat eggs in small bowl
  2. In a separate bowl, mix wet ingredients and slowly add eggs
  3. Mix dry ingredients in a separate bowl
  4. Pour dry ingredients into wet ingredients and mix
  5. Put bowl in the fridge for at least an hour for the mixture to thicken
  6. Take mixture out of fridge
  7. Put coconut oil in pan and set on medium heat
  8. Once the oil is melted, start frying up the pancakes
  9. Scoop out less than a 1/4 cup of batter for each pancake
  10. Space out the pancakes
  11. Let cook on both sides for about two minutes (estimated)

How many pancakes does this make? I’m not sure, but I know I made a lot. In fact, we are still eating them!

Serve with yogurt and fruit and any pancake topping you wish!

IMG_3275

Thank you for listening. I hope you try my recipe. Maybe next time we can get together over pancakes and coffee? My house or yours?

 

11 thoughts on “Coffee Talk

  1. How neat and simple is that? Rain, coffee nook, coffee and chill…Indid not detect any negative stress about rain preventing from doing…that is flipping awesome as a mantra to go by. And that’s before chatting about A to Z challenges…which I swerved right round on the basis of too new to blogging to be doing with that scary beast. Kudos though…and to the pancakes…I must try them at some point.

    Thanks for sharing the positive way of thinking about rain…even if that wasn’t the intention 🙃

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this coffee chat. I wish it was raining here because now I do crave pancakes and coffee and it’s too hot! A family cookbook is a brilliant idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I add oats my pancakes for extra fiber and protein…and bananas too. I love coffee outside on my porch in the morning or out on the “patio” in my backyard. Of course I didn’t check the weather report before decided to throw clothes on the line…thunderstorms this afternoon. D’oh!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

