A To Z Challenge 2016

Brooke

Brooke. My first born. My joy. My regrets. You dance around our home with your housedress, tiara, and mismatched socks. You are so happy. You see the world for its beauty. I wonder how you can be mine.

I remember our walks in Hoboken. You crying in your Bugaboo. Me crying too. I drowned out your tears while I listened to your daddy’s and my wedding songs on my IPOD.

Me trying to sooth my colicky baby. Me trying to sooth my sleep-deprived, sad, lost self. The stroller plunged through the mud and drizzled streets.

Sweet Child. I wish I could go back in time. Your newborn tears would wash away my anxious new mother frustrations. I would whisper in your ear, “I’m sorry.” I would hold you so close and feel your little pounding heart. “I’m here,” I would say.

I would hug you and your daddy so tight. We would be force field of love. We would stay that way.

No outsiders to shake us. No wishing for when you would walk or talk.

I’m sorry-

“Hey Mom!” You snatch me out of my thoughts.

“Are you working on your A to Z Challenge?”

“Yes, Honey. I am.”

“What are you on?”

“B”

“B?” “Only B?”

“Yes.”

“Ok. Can I do lunges?”

“Sure.”

Yes, my love. My B. My World. My Light.

 

FullSizeRender
“B” Draft
30 thoughts on “Brooke

  1. No one tells us how hard those first few months with a new baby can be–and if they did, we wouldn’t listen. But we get through them, the colic subsides, and we get to know this amazing new person. Lovely piece, coach.
    @RhondaGilmour from
    Late Blooming Rose

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So sweet! Those precious first few months with a newborn, especially the first time parent. We don’t know what we are doing, but we do know we are love with this sweet little baby entrusted into our care. And yes, lots of sleepless nights….but I would go back to them in a heartbeat if I could. My son/wife recently had a baby six weeks ago, my first grandchild. So appreciative of that wonderful gift he is 🙂

    thanks for visiting! Enjoy the rest of the challenge!

    betty
    http://viewsfrombenches.blogspot.com/

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re quite welcome. The encouragement from others definitely helps in thinking we are not insane for putting our worlds, hearts, and experiences out into the world. It lets us know we are not alone, and that love still is strong in a world where it seems to hide itself very well.
        Thank you for reading my little letters to my daughter. With the support of women that I have been getting, I’m encouraged in thinking I won’t screw her up with my thoughts, opinions, and advice, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahaha. You’re absolutely correct. My wife and I have this conversation often. Such little things from our childhood shaped some of the biggest anxieties, fears, and obstacles in our life. It’s crazy. It is even crazier when you grow up and realize that your parents are human and make mistakes too. We all, or most of us, do the best we can and just hope for non-serial killers!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

